Snow Interrupted Play

Over the past two weeks snow has caused school to either close early or be closed completely which has slowed down our Wii project.

We did manage to have a couple of Literacy lessons during the second week of term and during one of these I asked each of the children, one by one, what they thought of when I said Non-Fiction. I wanted to use this as a pre-assessment of the topic.

For many EBD children there are gaps in their learning and this was no exception. They all had a vague idea about things related to non-fiction texts and writing but on the whole they are quite insecure in their knowledge. Out of the eight boys only one had a good working knowledge of these text types.

I have made a Wordle of their responces, which I will not share with them until the end of the unit when they will be asked the same question again and the Wordles will be compared.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Snow Interrupted Play”

  1. jen kenny Says:

    I like the idea of making the wordle and then coming back to it. My frustration after finding so many excellent ideas at Bett and especially teach meet is that my LEA blocks so many . I am thinking of compiling a list and writing a very nice letter to ask if they can look and unblock some

  2. ebd35 Says:

    OH NO!!!! Which ones are blocked? So far I know Wordle and Voki are available for me Yea!!! YouTube though is blocked which is a pain.

Leave a Reply

